long way round

On Leadership and Mad Men

with one comment

I had a thoughtful post-modern, existential piece of review on the TV show Mad Men waiting in queue for about two weeks now. That's all gone to pieces after reading my friend's blog post. For those who know me decently well, know that I am very much against our never-ending war efforts. I, along with those close to me during my youth pastor days, have endured what nobody should have to in seeing someone, on the eve of his 21st birthday, literally sacrifice his life for his country, his honor, and his beliefs. 

Since then, I have now made another friend who is also a marine. I'm reminded that because of such men, I live in the kind of country I do today, and I have an idea of what "freedom" means.

Read his entry for a first-hand look at true leadership on the field.

Posted via email from Long Way Round

Written by shindz

April 24, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I dislike the blanket statements you hear from proponents of the war and the military. What they say tends to be, unfortunately, very very simplistic: “we’re fighting them over there so that we won’t be fighting them over here!” It’s a little more complicated than that…

    Thanks for knowing and not confusing the desire to “serve my country” with unconditional support and agreement for any actions by our Commander-in-Chief. For many of us (not all), it wasn’t because we believed in war or that Iraq and Afghanistan were to blame for 9/11. It was a desire to be part of something bigger and be part of the nation’s history, rather than just be consumed with the daily grind of student life / work life. And for some (I would say most infantrymen, like Marines), there is the true bottom-of-the-heart desire to do the hard things so that others, like our loved ones, don’t have to. We wanted to be the faces that other people saw at their time of need (the US military is arguably always the first organized responder to any major crisis, like tsunamis and earthquakes). We wanted to be the ones patrolling for hours without water and getting shot at so that the locals can maintain their livelihood without being terrorized by guerillas.

    If that requires being sent overseas because a President during our lifetime believes a war is necessary, then it is not our place to refuse. It’s the people/citizens that need to fight that front. Ours is over there until we are called back home.

    When you hear things like “because of such men, I live in the kind of country I do today”, that is the only reward we need. So thank YOU — it’s sincere acknowledgements like that, despite your personal opinions, that strengthens our resolve to continue doing our part. And knowing the sacrifice that you had to make on the home front makes all this even ring truer. I know it sounds cliche, but to me, it’s definitely the spouses, children, and loved ones at home who have the harder job. At least for us, we can get into a different mindset, pushing everything except the mission out. Not so with those waiting for us at home.

    Hopefully, your Mad Men post is still around and is next in line. =)

    koreahn

    April 24, 2010 at 5:14 pm


Leave a Reply

