long way round

The Sun Food Agenda, According to Michael Pollan

leave a comment »

I try to be minimal and simple in my living. I recycle when I can, and I commit to reducing the waste I produce. I use my own bowl, fork and cup at work so I don't need to use disposables. And most recently, I've dramatically cut down my food portions and meat consumption.  I don't mean to get on my ecological high horse, or pat myself on the back for saving the earth, but I do what I can. Mostly because I've learned over time, that the way we are using the earth at the present moment cannot be sustained very much longer. I think everyone can do something small, like not eating meat once a week, to make a large (positive) impact to the environment.

A lot of the change in my eating habits is thanks to Michael Pollan. There's quite a few good articles written by him, of which is one called "Out of the Kitchen, Onto the Couch" and "An Open Letter To The President". I recommend reading both. And of course, you can pick up The Omnivore's Dilemma if you want the full manifesto. He also recently spoke at the Poptech 2009 conference. It's definitely worth watch. And for all my design geek friends, the presentation was made by the same company that did Al Gore's An Inconvenient Truth, Duarte.

Posted via email from long way round.

Written by shindz

November 13, 2009 at 11:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

